Frequently Asked Questions

1. What does ‘CAADP’ stand for?

CAADP stands for the “Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme”.

2. What is CAADP?

CAADP is the agricultural programme of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), which in turn is a programme of the African Union (AU). Established by the AU assembly in 2003, CAADP focuses on improving food security, nutrition, and increasing incomes in Africa’s largely farming based economies. It aims to do this by raising agricultural productivity by at least 6% per year and increasing public investment in agriculture to 10% of national budgets per year.

3. What is CAADP’s relationship to AU-NEPAD?

NEPAD is an implementing agency of the African Union and is responsible for driving economic integration in Africa. CAADP is a programme within NEPAD that is working to improve agriculture with a view to boosting economic development. For more information on the AU go to: For more on NEPAD go to:

4. What are the CAADP Pillars?

The CAADP Pillars are CAADP’s four key focus areas for agricultural improvement and investment. Each pillar is headed by a different pillar leader. These four key pillars ‘Sustainable Land and Water Management’; ‘Market Access’; ‘Food Supply and Hunger’; and ‘Agricultural Research’. Each pillar oversees various programmes working to achieve CAADP’s goals.