Archive for September, 2013

COMESA Members States meet to validate Regional CAADP Compact

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) member states gathered in Lusaka, Zambia from the 26th-27th September 2013 to validate the Regional Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) Compact. COMESA Acting Director for Investment Promotion and Private Sector Development Division (IPPSD) Mr. Thierry Mutombo Kalonji said the coming up of the CAADP […]

Nutrition Key to Food Security-COMESA

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) has called for the need to pay particular attention to nutrition if Africa was to reduce the high prevalent rates of malnutrition. COMESA CAADP Coordinator Dr. Sam Kanyarukiga made the call during a keynote speech at the Southern Africa Regional Nutrition Capacity Development meeting under the […]

COMESA participates in the Participatory e-Learning training on Food Security

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) attended the Participatory Instructional Design for e-Learning training sponsored by the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) in Turin, Italy from 16th to 20th September 2013. Jointly offered cialis cvs by FAO and the International Training Centre of the International Labour Organisation (ITC-ILO), the training was […]

MAFS nominates Dr.Meebelo

Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) Deputy Coordinator Dr. Nalishebo Meebelo has been nominated as one of the Role Models in African Agricultural Food Systems. Indaba Agricultural Policy Research Institute (IAPRI) Acting Outreach Director Stephen Kabwe confirmed the nomination of  Dr. Meebelo by the Modernizing African Food Systems (MAFS) Project in Lusaka. “I would like […]

Uganda and Zambia gets GAFSP Funding

Uganda and Zambia are among the eight countries worldwide, to receive to the Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP) funding under the recent round of proposals, whose deadline for submission was 5th June 2013. . $254.5 million in grants was allocated to eight countries which include Burkina Faso, Honduras, Kyrgyz Republic, Mali, Nicaragua, Uganda, […]